Know Your Signs

After being in my classroom for the last two days, I have decided that now is time to admit that I have done all that I can to be prepared, without burning myself out, before the start of the term. The class has been deep cleaned (not by me) and I have added my final personal touches. I am really pleased with my challenge and reflection tables:

WP_20150827_14_28_12_Pro

This table will be available for fast finishers. There will be a selection of challenge cards from a variety of subjects and children will be invited to ‘outsmart’ the teachers!

WP_20150827_14_28_31_Pro

I have chosen ‘reflection area’ rather than ‘time out’ or ‘behaviour’ table to try and put a positive spin on negative situations. Pupils will have a chance to think about their actions, along with the consequences, and do so in a quiet corner of the room.

I am also delighted with the new style display boards that the school have purchased. They are ready (and permanently) backed so they will be great as working walls:

WP_20150826_14_20_08_Pro WP_20150826_14_20_22_Pro

There will be no problems with torn paper and old staple marks!

I feel that the classroom is feeling like my own now; I definitely have been able to put my stamp on it.

WP_20150827_14_29_22_Pro

WP_20150827_14_28_46_Pro WP_20150827_14_29_02_Pro

It was nice to see a few of the staff around the school, and I appreciated having a talk with my mentor. Amongst many supportive words, he advised me to know my warning signs and to make sure I speak to people if those signs occur. The words themselves seem quite straightforward, perhaps even a little obvious, but I was glad to hear them. I do know the signs of when things are getting on top of me, but I sometimes try to ignore them. I obviously want to prove myself this year, as I am sure all NQTs will be doing, but it is important to ensure help is asked for when it is needed. It is advice that is up there with what I said in my last blog: give yourself a break.

From speaking with other teachers, it is most certainly not just me suffering first term nerves. And that is fine. There is not much more I can do now, other than finalising my timetable for the first couple of days. It is time to shut up shop and enjoy the bank holiday weekend. I don’t feel that I have any new words of wisdom – I’m not wise enough yet – so I think all that I can say now is GOOD LUCK fellow teachers. You will be brilliant!

I imagine the next time I blog I will have started teaching. More adventures afoot. I look forward to having the next entry on here full of tips of what to do, and NOT do, as an NQT.

2 thoughts on “Know Your Signs

  1. Sal says:

    Good luck; find something everyday to be excited about; sit back and enjoy the rollercoaster. It has been a treat to follow you on your blog this year, (as well as in the SoE!). I know you’ll be fantastic!

    Like

Leave a comment